Research Help: King Curriculum Lab: Science & Social Studies

Science Websites

Science Websites for Teachers

The document above contains Internet resources for K-12 science teachers. These sites provide lesson plans, activities, games, interactives, videos, worksheets, readings, and much more for the classroom. The descriptions are from the sites. These resources were gathered from a variety of sources, including Cindy Judd at Eastern Kentucky University's Learning Resources Center, Marisa Walstrom at National Louis University Library, Kathleen Fitzgibbon's Teaching With Wikis, Blogs, Podcasts, & More and the web.

KET Science Web Resources

The links below contain science resources for teachers and students provided by Kentucky Educational Television. These resources are free.

Everyday Science
Includes resources for Pre-K-2 teachers. Has new videos and interactives on the following topics: weather, farm and zoo animals, the first years of human growth, seasons, and states of matter.
KET Discovery Education
Science resources can be accessed from this site including lesson plans and videos.
KET Image Bank
This is an interactive collection of images and educational information about mammals, reptiles, birds, plants, and insects found in Kentucky for Pre-K-12 teachers. Coming soon will be collections for places in and outside of Kentucky.
KET STEM Collection
This collection of STEM instructional resources focuses on all things Kentucky. K-12 teachers and students have access to video and images from award-winning KET programs, with educational support materials developed in line with state academic standards. Topics include life sciences, geometry, and biology.
Louisville Water Company's Tunneling for Water
These four videos for grades 4-6 document the creation of four wells and a mile-long tunnel that use riverbank filtration to supply water to homes and businesses. Viewed in order, the videos outline the excavation and construction process for the project. Individually, they illustrate specific STEM concepts through on-location video, interviews with engineers, and easy-to-understand graphics.
Water Solutions
These two sets of eight videos explore how to prevent and mitigate non-point-source water pollution. The first set (for grades 4-12) focuses on Bernheim Arboretum and Research Forest, located near Louisville, Kentucky, and how its "green" Visitor Center helps protect and conserve water. The second set of videos (for grades 6-12) focuses on the problem of acid drainage from abandoned Kentucky coal mines.

Social Studies Websites

Elementary Social Studies Websites

KET Social Studies Web Resources

The links below contain social studies resources for teachers and students provided by Kentucky Educational Television. These resources are free.

Kentucky Capitol Education Resources
Resource about Kentucky's capitol.
KET: Kentucky's Underground Railroad
Lesson plan about the underground railroad in Kentucky.
Kentucky Governor's Mansion
Resource about the Kentucky governor's mansion.
KET Lincoln Resources
Includes a wide array of programs, educational materials, and online resources about Abraham Lincoln.
Mission US
A series of free interactive online games for teaching American history to fourth-eighth grade students.
News Quiz
Features highlights from the past week's top news stories and includes a multiple-choice quiz concerning aspects of each story.
PBS Learning Media
Several social studies resources can be accessed from this site. Registration is free. Check out resources on Native American cultures, the Renaissance, Black History, Appalachia, and other cultures and time periods.
A State Divided
Images of artworks, artifacts, photographs, and source documents relating to the Civil War in Kentucky.

Primary Sources

What are Primary Sources? Essentially, primary sources are first hand accounts of an event. Examples may include diaries, photographs, audio files, video recordings, memoirs, maps, artifacts, etc. The descriptions are from the sites. These sources were gathered from Carol Maksian's LibGuide for Florida Gulf Coast University.

American Memory
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity.
Discovering American Women's History Online
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States.
Early Americas Digital Archive
A collection of electronic texts written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820.
Internet History Sourcebooks Project
Organizes primary documents by the following time periods: ancient, medieval, and modern.
Library of Congress Teacher Resources
The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching. Find classroom materials that meet your state's standards.
National Archives
With DocsTeach, find and create interactive learning activities with primary source documents that promote historical thinking skills.
Reference and User Services Association
Defines primary sources, provides information on how to find and evaluate online primary sources as well as how to cite websites.
Repositories of Primary Sources
A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar.
State Digital Resources
The Library of Congress American Memory project, Primary Sources by State, State Resource Guides, and other digital initiatives provide free access through the Internet to the treasures of the Library’s collections that document America’s history, culture, and creativity. This site contains a compilation of state and regional digital projects and collaborations identified thus far.