Research Help: King Curriculum Lab: Special Education

E-Books on Special Education

Assistive Technology to Support Inclusive Education

A Comprehensive Guide to Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities, Second Edition

Co-Teaching Do's, Don'ts, and Do Betters

Educating Students with Severe and Multiple Disabilities

Educating Young Children with and Without Exceptionalities New Perspectives

Multidisciplinary Interventions for People with Diverse Needs - a Training Guide for Teachers, Students, and Professionals

Special Education for Young Learners with Disabilities

Teaching Social Skills Through Sketch Comedy and Improv Games

More Language Arts, Math, and Science for Students with Severe Disabilities

Picture and Chapter Books About Disabilities and Impairments

Below is a document that contains a list of picture and chapter books on disabilities and impairments in our collections.

Picture and Chapter Books About Disabilities and Impairments

Curriculum Books for Special Education

Special Education Curriculum Books

Below is a list of some curriculum books for special education in our collections.

Title	Author	Call #
Success with RTI	Cooper, David J. and Michael D. Robinson	372.43 C66s (KCL)
Aligning IEPs to the Common Core State Standards for Students with Moderate and Severe Disabilities	Courtade, Ginevra	371.39 C68a (KCL)
7 Effective Strategies for Secondary Inclusion	Dieker, Lisa	371.9 D53e (KCL)
Educating Special Children: An Introduction to Provision for Pupils with Disabilities and Disorders	Farrell, Michael	371.90941 F37e (KL)
RTI from All Sides	Howard, Mary	371.9 H68r (KCL)
Common-Sense Classroom Management: Techniques for Working with Students with Significant Disabilities	Lindberg, Jill	371.9 L56cc (KCL)
Teaching Mathematics to Middle School Students with Learning Difficulties	Montague, Marjorie	371.9 M66tm (KCL)
Supervising Para-educators in Educational Settings: A Team Approach	Pickett, Anna Lou and Kent Gerlach	371.2 P52s (KCL)
The Exceptional Teacher’s Handbook	Shelton, Carla F.	371.9 S53et (KCL)
Exceptional Lives-Special Education in Today’s Schools	Turnbull, Rod; Ann Turnbull and Michael L. Wehmeyer	371.9 T87el (KCL)

Web Sites

The sites below contain bibliographies of picture and chapter books on disabilities and impairments.

Special Education Resources

Some of these resources were gathered from Libguides produced by Carol Maksian at Florida Gulf Coast University and Kathy Yoder at Bowling Green State University.

Education Legislation, Statistics, & State/Federal Resources

Kentucky Department of Education: Special Education
Special education laws and regulations as set by the Kentucky Department of Education.
National Center for Education Statistics
"The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education."
National Dissemination Center for Children with Disabilities
Contains disability information on babies, children, and young adults for educators and parents. Provides links to many important state and federal resources as well as education laws such as IDEA, NCLB, ADA Act, Section 504, and Assistive Technology Act. Includes fact sheets on specific disabilities.

Types of Disabilities

Disability History Museum
"The Disability History Museum hosts a virtual, searchable Library, Education curricula, and Museum exhibits. These programs are designed to foster research and study about the historical experiences of people with disabilities and their communities."
LD Online
"LD OnLine.org is the world's leading website on learning disabilities and ADHD, serving more than 200,000 parents, teachers, and other professionals each month. The site features hundreds of helpful articles, multimedia, monthly columns by noted experts, first person essays, children’s writing and artwork, a comprehensive resource guide, very active forums, and a Yellow Pages referral directory of professionals, schools, and products."

Gifted & Talented

National Research Center on the Gifted & Talented
Includes links to resources on gifted and talented education. Provides articles for teachers of gifted students.

Teaching Strategies

Institute on Community Integration
"The Institute on Community Integration (ICI) at the University of Minnesota pushes the edge of inclusion through an intensive focus on policies and practices that affect children, youth, and adults with disabilities, and those receiving educational supports."
Intervention Central
"Intervention Central provides teachers, schools and districts with free resources to help struggling learners and implement Response to Intervention and attain the Common Core State Standards." Contains academic interventions and behavioral interventions.
National Center for Learning Disabilities
"We provide evidence-based tools, resources, and professional development to educators to improve student outcomes. NCLD's RTI Action Network supports frontline educators in implementing a Response to Intervention (RTI) approach to identifying struggling learners early and providing them with interventions that they need to achieve academic success."
RTI Action Network
National organization dedicated to helping parents and teachers implement Response to Intervention.
Special Education Resources for General Educators
"This website was designed to provide general classroom educators with quick access to information and professional development about addressing the needs of students who have disabilities and special education." Includes information on instructional methods, classroom management, assessment, collaboration, assessment, and educational policies.

Universal Design & Assistive Technology

Boundless Assistive Technology
Offers assistive technology products, services, and support.
Center for Universal Design
“The Center for Universal Design in Education (CUDE) develops and collects Web-based resources to help educators apply universal design to all aspects of the educational experience: instruction, student services, information technology and physical spaces.”
Disabilities, Opportunities, Internetworking, and Technology (DO-IT)
"Provides resources for students with disabilities, K-12 educators, post-secondary faculty and administrators, librarians, employers, parents, and mentors. Promotes the application of universal design to physical spaces, information technology, instruction, and services."
Reading Rockets: Assistive Technology for Kids with Learning Disabilities: An Overview
Provides an article that describes the different types of assistive technology.

Professional Development & Research Publications

Council for Exceptional Children
“The Council for Exceptional Children (CEC) is the largest international professional organization dedicated to improving the educational success of individuals with disabilities and/or gifts and talents." Their site provides publications, professional development, resources and much more on Special Education. Must be a member to access all of the materials on the site.
IRIS Center
“Visit the IRIS Center for Training Enhancements for free online interactive resources that translate research about the education of students with disabilities into practice. Our materials cover a wide variety of evidence-based topics, including behavior, RTI, learning strategies, and progress monitoring.” Includes case studies.
National Association of Special Education Teachers
Contains publications and professional resources for Special Education teachers. While some resources are available to everyone, others are only accessible by members.
Teaching LD
"TeachingLD is a service of the Division for Learning Disabilities (DLD) of the Council for Exceptional Children. DLD is the largest international professional organization focused on Learning Disabilities." Includes information on types of learning disabilities and learning disability organizations as well as tutorials, videos, and lessons on Special Education. While some materials are available to everyone, you must be a member of CEC and DLD to access other materials on this site.

Locating Children's Books in the KCL

To locate children's books in the King Curriculum Lab, use the following guide for call numbers:

E = Easy Reader & Picture Books (fiction for elementary students; located by the Narnia mural)
NF = Nonfiction books (for elementary students; located after the curriculum section)
J = Juvenile (chapter books for upper elementary students; located behind the Easy Reader section)
YA = Young Adult fiction books (for middle and high school students; located after the Juvenile section)
YANF = Young Adult nonfiction books (for middle and high school students; located after the YA fiction section next to the lab's back door)

When searching for children's books in the library's online catalog, do an Advanced Search. Select "Audience" and "Juvenile." Type your term in the search box.