Research Help: King Curriculum Lab: Science

E-Books on Teaching Science

Dialogical Argumentation and Reasoning in Elementary Science Classrooms

Discovery Engineering in Physical Science

Supporting Emergent Multilingual Learners in Science, Grades 7-12

Inquiry-Based Science Activities in Grades 6-12

More Picture Books for Science

The document below contains a list of some more picture and nonfiction books on various science concepts in our library collections. The list is arranged alphabetically by the following concepts:

artic
astronomy
desert
dinosaurs
ecosystems
endangered species
energy transformations
forest habitat
freshwater/pond habitat
habitat and food chains
human body
insects and arachnids
interdependence
mammals
moon, sun, and earth-sun relations
ocean habitat
rain forest
reptiles and amphibians
seeds, plants, and trees
solar system
weather

Books are listed in increasing grade level under each concept.

Picture Books for Science
Books are listed by science concept and grade level.

More Trade Books

Outstanding Science Trade Books for Students K-12
Selected by a book review panel appointed by the National Science Teachers Association (NSTA) and assembled in cooperation with the Children's Book Council (CBC).

Picture Books for Science

Below are some picture books for science in our collections.

All in a Drop by Lori Alexander; Vivien Mildenberger (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780358036197
Publication Date: 2019-08-06
The Great Bear Rescue by Sandra Markle
ISBN: 1541581253
Publication Date: 2020-09-01
Honeybee by Candace Fleming; Eric Rohmann (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0823442853
Publication Date: 2020-02-04
Seeds Move! by Robin Page (Illustrator)
ISBN: 1534409165
Publication Date: 2019-03-19
Solar System by Steve Jenkins
ISBN: 9781328850980
Publication Date: 2020-06-23
Your Place in the Universe by Jason Chin
ISBN: 9780823446230
Publication Date: 2020-09-01

KET Science Web Resources

The links below contain science resources for teachers and students provided by Kentucky Educational Television. These resources are free.

Everyday Science
Includes resources for Pre-K-2 teachers. Has new videos and interactives on the following topics: weather, farm and zoo animals, the first years of human growth, seasons, and states of matter.
Exploratorium
Find professional development opportunities for teachers, online learning modules, and projects for students.
The Geological Society of America
K-12 resources for educators including lab and field experiences.
IPPEX: The Interactice Plasma Physics Experience
This website contains resources including a virtual Tokamak that allow students to learn about fusion energy, a groundbreaking new way to generate electricity.
KET Discovery Education
Science resources can be accessed from this site including lesson plans and videos.
KET Image Bank
This is an interactive collection of images and educational information about mammals, reptiles, birds, plants, and insects found in Kentucky for Pre-K-12 teachers. Coming soon will be collections for places in and outside of Kentucky.
KET STEM Collection
This collection of STEM instructional resources focuses on all things Kentucky. K-12 teachers and students have access to video and images from award-winning KET programs, with educational support materials developed in line with state academic standards. Topics include life sciences, geometry, and biology.
Louisville Water Company's Tunneling for Water
These four videos for grades 4-6 document the creation of four wells and a mile-long tunnel that use riverbank filtration to supply water to homes and businesses. Viewed in order, the videos outline the excavation and construction process for the project. Individually, they illustrate specific STEM concepts through on-location video, interviews with engineers, and easy-to-understand graphics.
NASA: Teaching Climate
NASA has educational resources to teach about the climate and climate change.
NASA Climate Kids
Website that explains how climate change works for kids.
NASA Games & Interactives
NASA has interactive games and quizzes for students.
National Geographic Kids
This site contains articles, games, videos, and other resources from National Geographic meant for kids.
National Science Teaching Association
Contains free instructional materials at the elementary, middle, and high school levels for teaching science.
New York Science Teacher
A website that curates science materials for science teachers including labs, lesson plans, worksheets, notes, and more.
NOAA Education
This site contains lesson plans, curriculum, data, and more for teachers.
Open Educational Resources Commons: National Science Digital Library
Free resources covering STEM topics.
The Science Spot
Contains science lesson plans, activities, and resources for middle school teachers.
Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History: Ocean Portal Educators' Corner
Lessons and activities covering topics related to the ocean.
U.S. National Science Foundation
Classroom resources covering engineering, chemistry, earth science, physics, biology, and more.
Water Solutions
These two sets of eight videos explore how to prevent and mitigate non-point-source water pollution. The first set (for grades 4-12) focuses on Bernheim Arboretum and Research Forest, located near Louisville, Kentucky, and how its "green" Visitor Center helps protect and conserve water. The second set of videos (for grades 6-12) focuses on the problem of acid drainage from abandoned Kentucky coal mines.

Locating Children's Books in the KCL

To locate children's books in the King Curriculum Lab, use the following guide for call numbers:

E = Easy Reader & Picture Books (fiction for elementary students; located by the Narnia mural)
NF = Nonfiction books (for elementary students; located after the curriculum section)
J = Juvenile (chapter books for upper elementary students; located behind the Easy Reader section)
YA = Young Adult fiction books (for middle and high school students; located after the Juvenile section)
YANF = Young Adult nonfiction books (for middle and high school students; located after the YA fiction section next to the lab's back door)

When searching for children's books in the library's online catalog, do an Advanced Search. Select "Audience" and "Juvenile." Type your term in the search box.