King Curriculum Lab

The site below provides instructions on using iPads in the classroom.

This site contains resources to help the educator use the iPad, iPod touch, and iPhone in the classroom.  A list of some of these resources is below.

• A guide for using iPad, iPod touch, and iTunes for K-12 teaching and learning
• Apple distinguished educators on iTunes U
• A guide to creating student-led documentaries
• Apple Tech for diverse learners
• Apple Tech to support learning for students with sensory and learning disabilities

The sites and video below contain information about iPad applications for the classroom.  Start your research on iPad applications by viewing the first two sites.  The descriptions are from the sites.

• Education iPad Applications:  This site provides links to iPad, iPod, and applications for various content areas, including English language arts; mathematics; science; history and geography; language development; art music, and creativity; reference, productivity, and collaboration; and special education.
• iTunes U:  (PDF document)  A comprehensive collection of educational content, including lectures, lab demonstrations, language lessons, movies, panel discussions and more. It offers over 500,000 free audio and video files. iTunes U content comes from hundreds of colleges and universities in 26 countries, state departments of education, and other education content providers. Includes content aimed at Higher Education and K-12 audiences. Some examples of content for use by K-12 teachers and students include Khan Academy, KQED, Study Partner from the Tennessee Department of Education, and Library of Congress. Also, view the Kentucky collection, a collaborative project with the Kentucky Department of Education, the University of Kentucky's College of Education, and Kentucky Educational Television. To access iTunes U, read the directions on pages 10-12 of the "Getting Started with Apple iOS Devices: A Guide for Using iPad, iPod touch, and iTunes for K-12 Teaching and Learning" by clicking on the link above.
• Apple Store:  Provides lists of the top free Education iPad applications.
• Apps in Education:  Provides lists of iPad applications by content area.
• Appo Learning:  "appoLearning showcases the best educational apps available by subject within four core age groups. We publish separate and comprehensive directories for Early Learning, Elementary School, Middle School and High School. Each age-specific directory features a taxonomy of subjects that will expand over time."
• Resources for Finding Apps:  Arizona Department of Education provides a list of websites that contain information and reviews about iPad apps.  Many of the apps on these sites are for student with disabilities.
• Ed Galaxy:  Read this article on the top ten iPad applications for high school students.
• I Education Review Apps:  "Community of over 500 educators reviews the overall educational value of 'educational apps.'”
• Infuse Learning:   "A free student response system that works with any Internet-connected device including iPads and Android tablets. Infuse Learning allows teachers to push questions, prompts, and quizzes out to students' devices in private virtual classrooms. In an Infuse Learning room a teacher can give students a wide variety of formats in which to response to a question or prompt. Students can reply to prompts and questions in standard multiple choice, true/false, and short answer formats. But Infuse Learning also offers an option for students to reply by creating drawings or diagrams on their iPads, Android tablets, or on their laptops."
• Kidblog:  "Kidblog is designed for K-12 teachers who want to provide each student with an individual blog. Students publish posts and participate in academic discussions within a secure classroom blogging community. Teachers maintain complete control over student blogs and user accounts."
• Online Classes:  Read this article on forty educational iPad applications for kids.
• Reading Rockets:  Read this article on the top twelve reading comprehension iPad applications.  Most of these applications are for elementary students.
• Today's Meet: This app is a free blog.  "Encourage the room to use the live stream to make comments, ask questions, and use that feedback to tailor your presentation, sharpen your points, and address audience needs."
• 20 Apps in 20 Minutes:  (Vimeo video)  This great video showcases twenty applications for iPad that were used to teach students in a fifth grade science class for an entire year.  This video was made by T.J. Houston, the Director of Technology for Huron City Schools, and Leah LaCrosse, a fifth grade science teacher.

Below is a list of sites that contain K-12 iPad lesson plans.

• iPad Lesson Plans--Ross Local Schools:  Includes K-12 iPad lesson plans for various subjects.  Contains links to iPad resources with a particular focus on Education applications.
• iPads in Schools—LiveBinder:  Contains several tabs of iPad resources for students, teachers, parents, and administrators.  Provides access to iPad lesson plans and organizes iPad applications by content area and grade level.  Offers information on grading with the iPad and creating formative assessments on the iPad.
• Interaction Education:  The site provides links on iPad applications, iPad lessons, and much more for educators.  In addition, the site contains videos about iPad applications and the various classroom uses of iPads.
• Kathy Schrock’s Guide to Everything—iPads in the Classroom:  Includes links with iPad tutorials, iPad applications—particularly for special education, classroom uses of the iPad, and iPad professional development activities.
• Katie Lately: A teacher’s blog that contains information about iPad applications as well as iPad lessons.  The lessons vary in age and grade level.
• Troy School District—Elementary iPad Integrated Lessons:  Provides detailed K-5 lesson plans for the following subjects:  math, language arts, science, social studies, and ESL.  Pictures from the iPad applications are incorporated into the lessons.  A list of iPad applications for a given subject and grade follows each lesson as well.

Below is a list of some of the best iPad applications for special education.  To find more information regarding this topic, search the Apple Store's site  The descriptions are from Apple's iPad site.

Proloquo2Go "provides a full-featured augmentative and alternative communication solution for people who have difficulty speaking.  It provides natural sounding text-to-speech voices, high resolution up-to-date symbols, powerful automatic conjugations, a default vocabulary of over 7,000 items, advanced word prediction, full expandability and extreme ease of use."                                                                                    

The Social Skills Sampler HD "application is designed to teach and reinforce basic social skills critical for independent living and is optimized for the iPad.  It provides easy-to-understand information that allows users to become more capable of functioning independently at work, at home, and in the community."

iHearClearly is "an application that converts your iPhone into a handy hearing aid.  It helps you listen to conversations, music concerts, etc. by amplifying the audio input.  It uses advanced noise cancellation to reduce the background noise and provides a much better audio quality.  iHearClearly lets users record noise samples for their current environment to provide even better clarity.  The latest version has a simplified user interface that can easily be used by the elderly as well as the average user."

ArtikPix-Full is "an engaging articulation app with flashcard and matching activities for children with speech sound delays.  Since the app includes child friendly language, you don't have to be a speech-language pathologist to facilitate practice.  Children use ArtikPix-Full to practice sounds independently, with a speech-language pathologist or their parents."

Sentence Builder is "designed to help elementary aged children learn how to build grammatically correct sentences.  Explicit attention is paid to the connector words that make up over 80% of the English language.  Sentence Builder offers a rich and fun environment for improving the grammar of all children."