Children's Literature

A selection guide for teachers and Library Media Specialists. (formerly called the Childrens Catalog)
SCHOOL LIBRARIES & YOUNG READER SERVICES

This comprehensive list of fiction and nonfiction books for young people in grades five through nine also presents review sources and other professional aids for school librarians and school media specialists. This Catalog is an essential tool for curriculum support and collection development in school libraries, media centers, public libraries, and academic libraries with courses in librarianship and young adult literature. Special features in this new edition are a list of highly recommended Web resources and a list of the most essential magazines and periodicals for middle and junior high school libraries. Entries include complete bibliographic data, price, Dewey Decimal Classification, descriptive annotations, and evaluative quotations from review sources when available. Access is provided by title, author, and subject. More than 4,500 titles in the main hardcover volume. More than 4,500 analytic entries for stories, plays, and other items from anthologies and composite works. More than 2,400 new titles in three annual paperbound supplements.

Wilson's Senior High Core Collection (19th Edition) identifies the best, most current material available to your library. It includes a main, library-bound guide to over 10,000 books plus review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists. It has been three years since the last edition, so this new update is a must-have source for collection development in high school libraries. The Collection is a selective list of fiction and non-fiction books recommended for grades 9 through 12. Titles are selected by an editorial team of librarians as well as a librarian advisory group--all of them experts in library services to adolescents and young adults. The Collection is a valuable tool for collection development and maintenance, reader's advisory and curriculum support for the high school library or institution supporting high school students. Richly enhanced records provide a wealth of useful information. Entries include: Complete bibliographic data Subject headings, annotations, grade level, Dewey classification and cover art Quotations from select reviews The Senior High Core Collection provides broad new coverage of biographies, art, sports, Islam, the Middle East, cultural diversity, science, computers and social networking, and new technologies in libraries.