Article Databases List: Article Databases

Database Name / Link

Provided by

Full Text?

Description

Academic Search (Scholarly)

Provides full text for over 8,500 full text publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracting for over 7,300 peer-reviewed journal titles covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more. Coverage: 1887 - present.

Agricola

This databases contains records from the U.S. Dept. of Agriculture. Includes more than 3.3 million citations referencing journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, technical reports, related to agriculture.  Coverage: 1970 - present.

This is a full text database of the over 174 newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses. This interdisciplinary resource provides a valuable source of viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge mainstream media coverage. Coverage: varies by title.

Business Source Premier

Provides full text for over 2,300 scholarly business journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and much more. The database also includes other full text information such as country economic reports and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies.  Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, and SWOT analyses.  Coverage: 1886 - present.

This database is the definitive source for vocational information. It includes over 580 titles, with more than 485 available in full text. Students can research virtually any technical topic, including: Computing science, Healthcare, Building trades, Auto mechanics, Sales and retail, Accounting, Graphic design, and Photography. Coverage: 1988 - present.

Christian Periodical Index

This database provides indexing  to English language articles and reviews written from an evangelical perspective. It currently indexes over 100 selected publications from the broad topics including science, literature, medicine, music, philosophy, history, sociology, nursing, and education. Coverage is representative of the major doctrinal positions within evangelical Christianity. Coverage: 1956 - present. Limited to 4 users on at a time.

CINAHL with Full Text

Designed for nursing and health professionals, students, educators and researchers, this database provides indexing and abstracting for over 1,835 journals and full text for 70 journals covering the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and allied health disciplines. Coverage: 1982 - present.

Communication and Mass Media Complete

This database provides quality research in areas related to communication and mass media. This database combines two databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- CommSearch, and Mass Media Articles Index. It offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals. This database includes full text for over 450 journals.  CMMC also contains a Thesaurus and comprehensive reference browsing. Coverage: 1915 - present.

CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published online 44 times a year. Each single-themed, 12,000-word report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist. It is professionally fact-checked, and footnoted to facilitate further research. The organization of content provides an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources. Coverage: 1991 - present.

ERIC

ERIC - the Education Resources Information Center - indexes peer-reviewed education journals. This database includes documents from other education sources, including some of the most frequently sought DoE publications and conference papers. ERIC provides access to more than 1.4 million journal articles and other education-related materials. When possible, links to full text in Adobe PDF format are included. Many links to full text articles in other databases!  Coverage: 1966 - present.

Education Index Retrospective

This resource indexes more than 800 periodicals and yearbooks, and cites approximately 850,000 articles, including book reviews.  Coverage: 1929 - 1983.

Education Source

The collection provides indexing and abstracts for more than 3,500 journals and includes full text for 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers.  It also includes over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.   Coverage: 1980 - present.

Educational Administration Abstracts

This resource includes indexing and abstracts covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 190,000 records. Coverage: 1966 - present. Coverage: 1966 - present.

Entrepreneurial Studies Source

This database offers full text for more than 125 key periodicals, 135 reference books, as well as case studies, company profiles and more. The database also includes over 600 videos with transcripts and related articles from the Harvard Faculty Seminar Series and Vator.TV.  This is an essential tool, providing the latest insight on topics relevant to entrepreneurship and small businesses and reliable and timely information for entrepreneurial research.  It contains full text from over 130 unique publications in this field.  Coverage: 1954 - present.  Coverage: 1954 - present.

Global NewsStream

Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. One of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Includes all Gannett Newspapers and everything from NewsStand: nearly 2000 news sources including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, The Christian Science Monitor, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, The Denver Post and USA Today. Coverage: varies by title. 

Green File

This database offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. It provides indexing and abstracts for more than 390,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records. Coverage: 1980 - present.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic

Provides full text for over 550 scholarly health journals, focusing on medical disciplines. Coverage: 1975 - present.

History Reference Center

History Reference Center is a comprehensive full text database for primary source documents and informational texts, such as 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers. The database also includes full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals. Further, the database contains nearly 57,000 historical documents; more than 77,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 37,000 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video. Coverage: 1901 - present

You may search all of JSTOR, but we only have access to the full text for about 400 journal titles in two collections.  This is a historical resource, so while no current issues are available, most full text goes back to the first issue of that journal title.  About 60 of the titles have new issues added every year, with an average 3-5 year embargo. Disciplines covered include Art & Art History, Film, History, Literature, Music and Religion.

Literary Reference Center

This is a comprehensive literary database, which provides a broad spectrum of information from antiquity to the present day. It combines information from over 1,000 books, major reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. Coverage: 1975 - present.

Library, Information Science, & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)

This indexes more than 500 core journals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Coverage: 1965 - present.

MasterFile (popular)

Contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags.  Coverage: 1975 - present. 

MEDLINE

Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Allows users to search abstracts from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Coverage: 1966 - present. 

Modern Language Assoc. Bibliography

The database provides indexing and abstracts for books and articles published on modern languages, literature, including British and American, folklore, linguistics, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.  Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.  The materials covered are international and include almost 60 titles from J-STOR’s language and literature collection as well as links to full text.  This database contains citations from more than 4,400 journals. Coverage: 1963 - present. 

Newspaper Source

Provides provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 U.S. & international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 380 regional U.S. newspapers. Coverage: varies by title.

NewsStand (US NewsStream)

Newsstand is a database that contains major national newspapers, and state and regional papers.  The core titles include papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, and the Washington Post. It also includes access to 85 full-text newspapers from Gannett, and 7 U.S. military titles. Newsstand includes detailed indexing for subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas.  Access includes not only top news stories but also editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor from well known people are indexed.  Over 1,270 newspapers are full text.  Coverage: varies by title.

OmniFile

A multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and full text from all of Wilson's databases. Can specify subject content area of focus. Full text from over 1,750 journal titles. Coverage: 1982 - present. 

Opposing Viewpoints

This is a premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

Professional Development Collection

Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of more than 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Coverage: 1965 - present. 

PsycINFO

Provides indexing and abstracts for almost 2,000 peer reviewed journals from nearly 50 countries. This database, provided by the American Psychological Association, also includes abstracts for dissertations, books, and book chapters. Coverage: 1887 - present. 

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

A comprehensive database with more than 575 full text tiles covering topics in the field of psychology.  Coverage: 1965 - present. 

This database provides comprehensive full text coverage more than 100 regional U.S. and Canadian business publications.  Key resources include newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, trade publications, magazines and newswires.  Coverage: 1990 - present.

Religion

This is a resource for researching religious issues and perspectives. The database includes nearly 120 titles, with more than 100 available in full text. The database is an excellent source of religious news and information. The database provides details on doctrines and philosophies, reports on religious history, and related archeology. This resource also covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of specific religions.  Primary faiths represented in the database are Christianity, Islam, Judaism, and Buddhism. Coverage: 1975 - present.

Religion & Philosophy Collection

This is a comprehensive database covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, and more. It contains over 300 full text journals. Coverage: 1975 - present. 

Research Library

From business and political science to literature and psychology, Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 3,820 titles, over 2,550 in full text. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. This combination of volume and scope makes it one of the broadest, most inclusive databases ProQuest has to offer.  Research Library consists of two components: a core list of periodicals; plus 15 supplemental subject-specific modules. Coverage: 1971 - present.

RILM - Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale

RILM is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexing for subjects such as traditional music, popular music, and classical music, representing disciplines that include musicology, ethnomusicology, pedagogy, psychology, anthropology, sociology and others. All document types and media such as books, conference proceedings, journal articles, dissertations as well as internet resources, sound recordings and motion pictures are indexed. RILM also features bilingual abstracts and all non-Roman scripts. Coverage: 1967 - present.

Small Business Reference Center

This database offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as the necessary tools and instructions to address a wide-range of small business topics. In addition, it provides business videos, a help and advice section, and information on how to create business plans. This is a comprehensive resource for small business owners and those interested in starting a business, offering full-text periodicals and reports, sample business plans, and U.S. tax forms. It supports small business owners in all relevant areas from planning, financing and managing a business to exit strategies. Coverage: 1980 - present.

Sociological Collection

This database provides coverage of more than 500 full text journals. It offers information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. Coverage: 1965 - present.

SocINDEX

This is a comprehensive sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records. It contains abstracts for more than 1,300 journals. It contains full text for more than 860 journals. This database also includes full text from more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.   Coverage: 1908 - present

Teacher Reference Center

This is a full text database. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines, 95% of which are peer-reviewed, to assist professional educators. It is specially designed for the K-12 educator with subjects like Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.  Coverage: 1980s - present