Research Help: Social Science &amp; History: Social Science &amp; History

Databases

Below are the databases best suited to this subject area; you can view an entire list of all available databases at A-Z Databases. If you find an article in a database that is not available in full-text, fill out an Interlibrary Loan form to request a copy of the item.

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window This is a comprehensive sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records. It contains abstracts for more than 1,300 journals. It contains full text for more than 860 journals. This database also includes full text from more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers. Coverage: 1908 - present.
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window This database provides coverage of more than 500 full text journals. It offers information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. Coverage: 1965 - present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window This is a comprehensive, scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. This database can be a good starting place for topics that cross many subject areas. Coverage: 1887 to date
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window History Reference Center is a comprehensive full text database for primary source documents and informational texts, such as 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers. The database also includes full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals. Further, the database contains nearly 57,000 historical documents; more than 77,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 37,000 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video. Coverage: 1901 - present
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window Provides provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 U.S. & international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 380 regional U.S. newspapers. Coverage: varies by title.
US NewsStream This link opens in a new window Newsstand (aka US NewsStream) contains major national newspapers, and state and regional papers. The core titles include The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, and the Washington Post. It also includes 85 full-text newspapers and 7 U.S. military titles. Newsstand includes detailed indexing for subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas. Contains top news stories, editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor from well known people are indexed. Over 1,270 newspapers are full text. Coverage: 1980's - present.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

Books & E-Books

Library Catalog

Search the Kinlaw Library catalog for print books, print journals, DVDs, and other physical materials.

E-Books: Main Collection

E-Books: Reference

Think of this as your academic alternative to Wikipedia! Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Use this box to search hundreds of full-text reference titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.

Highlights

Specialty items related to Social Sciences and History:

Primary Sources
Click here to see a listing with links to helpful primary sources.

Open Access Journals:

Strategic Decision-Making in Presidential Nominations

African Americans and the First Amendment

Alexander Hamilton's Public Administration

Understanding and Navigating Discrimination in America

The Edinburgh Companion to Political Realism

The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Urban and Regional Studies

Citation Styles

The guide for the most common citation style for this discipline is included below, but if your professor has requested a different citation style be sure to check out the Citation Style Guides. Another excellent resource for additional citation assistance is the Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL). If you need to see the official manual for a particular style, be sure to visit Kinlaw Library.

Chicago Quick Guide
This guide provides a basic overview of the Chicago Style of Citation.

Contact a Librarian

Beth Groves

Email Me

Contact:

Kinlaw Library, Office 225
One Macklem Drive
Wilmore, KY 40390

859-858-3511; ext. 2269