Need help with the research process? The tutorials in this section are the tutorials the librarians most recommend for learning how to research, from learning how to use Asbury Scholar, how to use databases, how to avoid plagiarism, and beyond. The full collection of library research tutorials is available here, and the Online Students page contains some as well if you are an online student. Check out these videos, PDF guides, and webpages for tips and tricks to make you a better researcher or contact us to ask a question!
These tutorials will give you a tour of Kinlaw Library's website and a brief overview of its resources, show you how to contact a librarian for research help, and show you how to submit an Interlibrary Loan request.
Asbury Scholar is a one-search box that gives a point of access to most of Kinlaw Library’s print and electronic resources. It is the most comprehensive way to search Kinlaw Library's resources. It works by searching most of Kinlaw Library's individual databases and its library catalog all at the same time. You can use it to find print books, eBooks, electronic scholarly articles, and more resources. As an Asbury student, faculty, or staff member, any resources you find through Asbury Scholar are free for you to access. This is a great way to find scholarly sources because most of the resources you find through Asbury Scholar will be scholarly, academic sources.
These resources will help you learn how to evaluate source credibility. This is important to do no matter what source you find. It can be good to ask yourself questions such as: How recent is this source? How relevant is this source to my research topic? Is this source scholarly? among other related questions.
This resource will show you search techniques that might help you while searching library databases and / or internet search engines.
This resource explains what plagiarism is and how to avoid plagiarizing in your projects.
This resource explains what primary and secondary scholarly sources are, how to identify primary and secondary sources, and why you might seek out one of these types of scholarly sources.
These tutorials will show you how to use some of Kinlaw Library's databases. Most of Kinlaw Library's databases are subject-specific but some will focus on a certain medium or have another type of specific focus.
Credo is Kinlaw Library's reference database. You can use Credo to search for encyclopedia, dictionary, and other reference-specific articles covering a topic. Credo is good for getting a general overview or a definition of a topic but it does not necessarily contain peer-reviewed articles like Kinlaw Library's other databases.
