Research Help: Open Access Resources: Media

Open Access Audio, Video

Here are some great repositories of digital media in a variety of formats.

Digital Public Library of America
"The DPLA offers a single point of access to millions of items—photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more—from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Users can browse and search the DPLA’s collections by timeline, map, format, and topic."
Internet Archive - Audio Resources
Provides access to over one million recordings, from entire concerts to lectures to sermons.
Internet Archive - Video Resources
Provides access to over 700,000 videos, including movies, documentaries, commercials, and cartoons.
LibriVox
Provides access to over 5,000 online audiobooks, featuring many classic titles

Open Access Music Scores

IMSLP - Score Library
The International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP) provides full access to over 260,000 scores.

Images

Many images are not cleared for use unless they contain a statement that the creator has given permission. To make it easy for this to occur, the Creative Commons licensing was created. See more information here: https://creativecommons.org/about/

In addition, there are many image search options to locate these types of images - those that can be reused with permission already given. Here are some good places to look:

Flickr for images: https://www.flickr.com/creativecommons/

Here is a listing of other good sites: http://budgetstockphoto.com/creative_commons_images.html

And here is a great listing of Public Domain sources: http://guides.library.harvard.edu/c.php?g=310751&p=2072816 (plus some good creative commons sites too.)

Search the Creative Commons site. Please make note of their warning at the bottom of that page.

Creative Commons
Provides a search interface to find images, video, and music that is licensed to be shared and sometimes to be modified. The licenses vary in scope, but generally always are more liberal than standard copyright law.