Below are the databases best suited to this subject area; you can view an entire list of all available databases at A-Z Databases. If you find an article in a database that is not available in full-text, fill out an Interlibrary Loan form to request a copy of the item.
Library Catalog
Search the Kinlaw Library catalog for print books, print journals, DVDs, and other physical materials.
E-Books: Main Collection
E-Books: Reference
Think of this as your academic alternative to Wikipedia! Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Use this box to search hundreds of full-text reference titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Specialty items related to Nursing.
Code of Ethics for Nurses with Interpretive Statements
by
Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice
by
Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice, 4th Edition is an essential document for every nurse. The scope of practice statement answers the who, what, when, where, how, and why questions of nursing. The standards provide authoritative statements of the actions and behaviors that all registered nurses are expected to competently perform, regardless of role, population, specialty, and setting. Each standard is accompanied by detailed competencies for the three practice levels. The product of extensive thought work by many registered nurses, this new edition provides: A revised and contemporary definition of nursing. An extensive discussion of respect, equity, inclusion, and social justice. The new ANA Professional Nursing Model and the revised Model Representing Regulation of Professional Nursing Practice. An expanded discussion of the application of ethics in nursing. A complete picture of the dynamic and complex practice of nursing and its membership and evolving boundaries. 18 national standards of practice and professional performance and their accompanying competencies. This premier professional resource informs and guides nurses in their vital work providing safe, quality, and competent care. It is a must-have for every registered nurse.
NCLEX-RN Test Success, Second Edition
by
This ultimate NCLEX-RN; review book that "helps you think like a nurse" has been fully updated to incorporate the 2016 test plan. Including more complex case studies to reflect the difficulty of the exam, this comprehensive review encourages active learning to master the content. Each evolving case study is broken down into realistic clinical problems that students can solve only by using the critical thinking skills necessary for the NCLEX-RN exam. Interspersed with over 700 interactive questions and rationales, audio-based questions, and electronic learning resources, the case studies mimic real-life nursing situations and provide models to help students problem-solve when taking the actual test. The review is presented in an enjoyable format without the drudgery of question after unrelated question or medical terminology flashcards. Multiple-choice questions, select all that apply, hot spots, matching, true and false, prioritizing, gaming, and calculations replicate the actual NCLEX-RN exam and keep students engaged throughout the review process. Each nursing specialty features a chapter on its specific pharmacology principles, culminating in a stand-alone chapter solely dedicated to reviewing pharmacological principles. Beyond its utility as an exam review, this resource is also a unique case study book designed to assist instructors in delivering content in an innovative format. New to the Second Edition: Fully updated to mirror the new 2016 test planReflects new changes in nursing, including prioritization, delegation, room assignment, The Joint Commission competencies, work-arounds, situation, background, assessment, and recommendation (SBAR) reporting, and value-based careMore in-depth case studies to reflect greater exam complexityNew chapters on gerontology nursing, men's health, and veterans' healthNew question types, including audio-basedNew e-learning componentNew responses to questions are defined by test plan categories and difficulty levelIncludes many new interactive questions and answers Key Features: Uses unfolding case study approach, integrating all patient care content areas with practice and professional rolesMirrors NCLEX test blueprintOffers an enjoyable study option distinct from traditional Q and AProvides over 700 questions and answers using varied NCLEX question stylesIncludes references at the end of chapters for self-remediation NCLEX-RN(R) is a registered trademark of the National Council of State Boards of Nursing, Inc. Test names are the property of the respective trademark holders, none of whom endorse or are affiliated with Springer Publishing Company.
The guide for the most common citation style for this discipline is included below, but if your professor has requested a different citation style be sure to check out the Citation Style Guides. Another excellent resource for additional citation assistance is the Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL). If you need to see the official manual for a particular style, be sure to visit Kinlaw Library.
