Research Help: Graduate Program in Social Work: Find Articles

Recommended databases

The Librarians recommend starting with these to find articles, and/or essays in scholarly journals.

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This is a comprehensive sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records. It contains abstracts for more than 1,300 journals. It contains full text for more than 860 journals. This database also includes full text from more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers. Coverage: 1908 - present.
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window
This database provides coverage of more than 500 full text journals. It offers information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
Coverage: 1965 - present.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for almost 2,000 peer reviewed journals from nearly 50 countries. This database, provided by the American Psychological Association, also includes abstracts for dissertations, books, and book chapters. Coverage: 1887 - present.
APA PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
This serves as a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching. International in scope, PsycTESTS also provides access to tests that are in languages other than English. This is an authoritative source of structured information about tests of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as social work. While focused on contemporary instances of test use, coverage spans more than a century.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista integrates data on over 80.000 topics from over 18.000 sources onto a single platform. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Statista is an intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information. The data sources include market research reports, as well as trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. For each statistic, there is provided available metadata including the source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information.

InterLibrary Loan

Order what we don't have from someone else - FOR FREE!

Just fill out our forms - and let us know if you have any questions.

Find Full Text Journals

A browsable list of journal titles contained in our databases on Sociology.
A browsable list of journal titles contained in our databases on Social Work.

To look for a specific journal title, use the search option below

How To Use

These are two very helpful guides on using our resources effectively. These guides explain all the various functions of each database.

How to use SocIndex

Open Access Journals of Interest

Here is a short list of open access journals for this subject area. This is not a comprehensive list, just a few that we found interesting.

To find additional open access journals, check the:

Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to articles from over 8,000 scholarly and scientific journals.