Research Help: Christian Studies &amp; Philosophy: Christian Studies &amp; Philosophy

Databases

Below are the databases best suited to this subject area; you can view an entire list of all available databases at A-Z Databases. If you find an article in a database that is not available in full-text, fill out an Interlibrary Loan form to request a copy of the item.

Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window This is a comprehensive database covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, and more. It contains over 300 full text journals. Coverage: 1975 - present.
Religion Database This link opens in a new window This is a resource for researching religious issues and perspectives. The database includes nearly 120 titles, with more than 100 available in full text. The database provides details on doctrines and philosophies, reports on religious history, and related archeology. This resource also covers formal theological studies and commentary from the perspectives of specific religions. Primary faiths represented in the database are Christianity, Islam, Judaism, and Buddhism. Coverage: 1975 - present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window This is a comprehensive, scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. This database can be a good starting place for topics that cross many subject areas. Coverage: 1887 to date
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

Books & E-Books

Library Catalog

Search the Kinlaw Library catalog for print books, print journals, DVDs, and other physical materials.

E-Books: Main Collection

E-Books: Reference

Think of this as your academic alternative to Wikipedia! Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Use this box to search hundreds of full-text reference titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.

Highlights

Specialty items related to Christian Studies & Philosophy:

Online Commentaries available through Kinlaw Library
Click here to see a listing with direct links of Kinlaw Library's most popular electronic Biblical commentary books.
Digital Theological Library - Open Access
The mission of Open Access Digital Theological Library (OADTL) is to curate high-quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, scholarly societies, archives, and stable public domain collections. The OADTL uses the world’s most advanced integrated library system (ILS) for cataloging and discovery. This system, OCLC’s WorldShare, makes content easily discoverable and retrievable. The OADTL is staffed by professional librarians and curates content without regard for theological or confessional perspective. It is hoped that the increased access to high-quality religious studies content will serve scholars and students of religion.
Lexham English Bible English–Greek Reverse Interlinear New Testament
A download of each chapter of the New Testament is available through this link. Click on the link. Scroll to the bottom of the page. Select the chapter of the Reverse Interlinear Bible that you would like to download.
Best Commentaries: New Testament
Reviews and ratings of Biblical, theological, and practical Christian works.
Best Commentaries: Old Testament
Reviews and ratings of Biblical, theological, and practical Christian works.
The Catholic Encycopedia
The Catholic Encyclopedia, as its name implies, proposes to give its readers full and authoritative information on the entire cycle of Catholic interests, action and doctrine.
The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)
ARDA consists of compilations of quantitative and geographic data on religions worldwide, including Christian denominations and congregations in the United States. Reports and maps are available for each country, as well as for US states and localities; links, lists of sources, and updates are included.
Religions: Research & Data (PEW Research Center)
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions.
International Religious Freedom Report 2020
The Department of State submits an annual Report to Congress on International Religious Freedom in compliance with section 102(b) of the International Religious Freedom Act of 1998 (P.L. 105-292), as amended. This report, also known as the International Religious Freedom Report, describes the status of religious freedom, government policies violating religious belief and practices of groups, religious denominations and individuals, and U.S. policies promoting religious freedom in nearly every country and territory throughout the world. The report covers the period between January 1 and December 31 of the previous calendar year.
Bible Hub
Bible Hub features topical, Greek and Hebrew study tools, plus concordances, commentaries, dictionaries, sermons and devotionals.
Blue Letter Bible
Read and study God's Word with Bible study software that has in-depth resources such as commentaries, Greek and Hebrew word tools, concordances, and more.
ASLV Bible
The Bible in American Sign Language (Videos), provided by Deaf Missions

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible

The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology

The IVP Bible Background Commentary: New Testament

The IVP Bible Background Commentary: Old Testament

Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Developments

Five Things Theologians Wish Biblical Scholars Knew

Five Things Biblical Scholars Wish Theologians Knew

The Handy Western Philosophy Answer Book

Dictionary of Paul and His Letters, 2nd edition

Citation Styles

The guide for the most common citation style for this discipline is included below, but if your professor has requested a different citation style be sure to check out the Citation Style Guides. Another excellent resource for additional citation assistance is the Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL). If you need to see the official manual for a particular style, be sure to visit Kinlaw Library.

Chicago Quick Guide
This guide provides a basic overview of the Chicago Style of Citation.

SBL Handbook Student Supplement (2015)

Contact a Librarian

Beth Groves

Email Me

Contact:

Kinlaw Library, Office 225
One Macklem Drive
Wilmore, KY 40390

859-858-3511; ext. 2269