More extensive list of resources and places to search for information.
Last Updated: Dec 3, 2013
The Librarians recommend starting with these find articles, and/or essays in scholarly journals. Also find images!
ERIC - the Education Resources Information Center - is an online digital library of education research and information. ERIC provides access to education literature to support practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research. ERIC indexes education journals, the majority of which are peer-reviewed. Most of these journals are indexed comprehensively. ERIC acquires documents from hundreds of sources and indexes materials on thousands of topics. It provides immediate access to some of the most frequently sought DoE publications and conference papers, as well as materials related to current education topics. ERIC provides unlimited access to more than 1.4 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added multiple times per week. If possible, links to full text in Adobe PDF format are included. Links to full text in other databases! Coverage: 1966 - present.
Provides indexing and abstracts for almost 2,000 peer reviewed journals from nearly 50 countries. This database, provided by the American Psychological Association, also includes abstracts for dissertations, books, and book chapters. This database goes back to the 1800's. Search for abstracts, articles, scholarly info - some full text. Coverage: 1887 - present.
- Proquest Research Library - Education Module
This contains much full text for education. Many titles not available in our other databases.
- Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines, 95% of which are peer-reviewed, to assist professional educators. It is specially designed for the K-12 educator with subjects like Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education. Coverage: 1980s - present
- Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of more than 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Coverage: 1965 - present.
- Learning Express
This is a comprehensive, interactive learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help its users succeed on academic or licensing tests. Includes scoring, complete answer explanations, and individualized analyses of results. Each of the Learning Centers offers practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want. Looking to land a job? You'll find an entire Learning Center dedicated to helping you get the one that's right for you.
*** In order to take the tests, you must register for a personal account. ***
Simply click on the "Register" button under "New User," and then create a personal login and password that you can remember. If logging in from off campus, you must first use your Asbury University network login/password when prompted, and then you'll need to login with your LearningExpress personalized login and password.
- Teaching Books
The database is developed and maintained to include thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 environment, with every resource selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading and library activities. It is a portal to thousands of multimedia resources that can enhance and enliven your reading experiences.
- Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database
It is the mission of this resource to provide reliable one search access to all important and relevant information about Pre K-12 media of all types, including reviews from respected publications for those professionals who work with Pre K-12 media. In general, the majority of the reviews provided from review sources date from 1993 and move forward. Multiple reviews give varied perspectives and assist in locating hard-to-find reviews of series and small press books. In addition to the review data, the CLCD database has information about thousands of books that have been recognized as having particular merit. There are over 570,000 entries identifying these select books. National, state and international awards back to the first Newbery in 1922 and hundreds of others. If that isn't enough there are more than sixty best books lists and all state reading lists are included and updated annually.
Don't know how to search ERIC effectively? Click on the document link below and you will have a complete guide to all the features of ERIC and how to search it well.
If you have any questions, please contact Jennifer Walz.
Order what we don't have from someone else - FOR FREE!
Just fill out our forms - and you can get everything you want.