This is the "Find Articles" page of the "Art" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Art   Tags: architecture, art, art_history  

Guide to resources in the field of art, architecture, and art history.
Last Updated: Dec 3, 2013 URL: http://asbury.libguides.com/art Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Find Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Recommended databases

The Librarians recommend starting with these find articles, and/or essays in scholarly journals.   Also find images!

  • Academic Search Premier  
      
      Icon
    This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Academic Search Premier is an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, offering critical information from many sources unique to this database. Coverage: 1887 - present.
  • Research Library  Icon
    From business and political science to literature and psychology, Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 3,820 titles, over 2,550 in full text. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. This combination of volume and scope makes it one of the broadest, most inclusive databases ProQuest has to offer. Research Library consists of two components: a core list of periodicals; plus 15 supplemental subject-specific modules. Coverage: 1971 - present.
  • OmniFile  Icon
    A multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and full text from all of Wilson's databases. Can specify subject content area of focus. Full text from over 1,750 journal titles. Coverage: 1982 - present.
  • ArtStor
    This is a multi-disciplinary digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. The Digital Library serves users both within the arts and in disciplines outside of the arts. This includes historians of art and architecture and others engaged in the visual arts, as well as individuals in fields as diverse as American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Literary Studies, Medieval Studies, Music, Religious Studies, and Renaissance Studies, all of whom find the images in ARTstor to be relevant to their teaching and research. All images are cleared for educational use. Coverage: B.C. - present.
 

Art Index

Art Index is the PRIMARY index for Art that we own.  We still do get it in paper copy because there is no complete electronic version.  Plus the back issues are important - we have no electronic resource that covers the dates between 1970 and 1984.

Cover Art
Art Index - H. W. Wilson
Call Number: Index shelves in current Periodicals
Publication Date: 1970-2010
THE index for Art. Back issues.

 

InterLibrary Loan

Order what we don't have from someone else - FOR FREE!

Just fill out our forms - and you can get everything you want.

 

Images in ArtStor

ArtStor contains a wealth of images!   New ones added each day.   Any subject matter at all.  You can search by name, place, type of object, style of art, or era.  You can also browse by geography or collection.  Here are some samples.

CLICK LINKS BELOW TO SEE IMAGES:    These will open in a new window.

[Note to offcampus users:  you MUST configure your browser to allow popups from artstor.org   AND   go.asbury.edu for help contact helpdesk@asbury.edu]

Michelangelo       Da Vinci

Frank Stella        Matthew Brady

Ansel Adams      Charles Eames

Tiffany              Walter Gropius

Collections: 

Bartsch - collection offers more than 50,000 images of Old Master European prints

Native American - historic photographs documenting Native American subjects AND 2,000 Plains Indian ledger drawings

Medieval Stained Glass - 1,400 images of medieval stained glass windows

Cartoon Archive - 3,200 images of drawings and sketches by John Fischetti

Costumes - 5,800 images of American and European costumes and accessories which were formerly in the Brooklyn Museum

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip