Finding Information about People: More Biographical Information

The following sources give abbreviated information covering date and place of birth, marital status and number of children, current address, current position, positions held in the past, membership in societies, and selected publications.

Living Persons (or those who have been prominent during the 20th century)

Ref.                 International Who's Who.  1976 to date.

920.01

In8      

Provides brief data on prominent persons through­out the world.  Especially valuable as a source of data on persons from small countries who are seldom cited in other sources.

Ref.                 Who's Who.  1991 to 2003.

920.042

W62   

Supplies brief data on prominent living British citizens as well as some of other nationalities.

Ref.                 Who's Who in America.  2006-2010.

920.73

W62

            Gives brief data on prominent living Ameri­cans.

Deceased Persons

Ref.                 Who Was Who.  1897 to 1990.

920

W62w

            Brief data on British citizens who are no longer living.

Ref.                 Who Was Who in America.  1607 to 2008.

920.073

W62w

            Brief data on Americans who are no longer living.

Living Persons

Indexes           New York Times Index.

Indexes important data on persons living during the period covered.  Gives date of death under the heading "Deaths".

Ref.                 Current Biography.  1940 to 2005.

920.02

C93

Includes an average of 300-350 biographies annually of persons of various nationalities, professions, and occupations, who are currently prominent in their particular fields.  Also includ­ed are obitu­aries at the time of death for those included previously.  Be sure to use the index at the back of the most recent volume. Library does not have complete set.

Deceased Persons

Ref.                 Dictionary of American Biography.  20 vols. plus supps.

920.073                                  

D56

Includes more than 13,600 biographies of Americans no longer living who have made a signifi­cant contribution to American life.  Has supple­ments and an index.

Ref.                 Dictionary of National Biography.  21 vols.  plus supps.

920.042

D56

Contains articles by specialists, and excel­lent bibliography.  Gives detailed biographies of impor­tant inhabitants of the British Isles and its colonies whose deaths preceded publication date of DNB.  Important names are treated at great length, minor names more briefly. All articles are general­ly reliable and scholarly.

OTHER SOURCES

There are many other biographical sources in the Reference Collection.  Feel free to browse the Dewey Decimal section starting at 920.  Many of the other sources not mentioned here are organized by profession, such as Who’s Who in American Politics or Contemporary Novelists.

ONLINE CATALOG

 The online catalog is the place to look to see if the library has a book about a person.  Use the Subject search and type in the person's last name first.

 If the sources listed above do not fill your need, please consult a Reference Librarian.