Research Help: Psychology: Psychology

Databases

Below are the databases best suited to this subject area; you can view an entire list of all available databases at A-Z Databases. If you find an article in a database that is not available in full-text, fill out an Interlibrary Loan form to request a copy of the item.

APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Provides indexing and abstracts for almost 2,000 peer reviewed journals from nearly 50 countries. This database, provided by the American Psychological Association, also includes abstracts for dissertations, books, and book chapters. Coverage: 1887 - present.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window A comprehensive database with more than 575 full text tiles covering topics in the field of psychology. Coverage: 1965 - present.
APA PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window This serves as a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching. International in scope, PsycTESTS also provides access to tests that are in languages other than English. This is an authoritative source of structured information about tests of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as social work. While focused on contemporary instances of test use, coverage spans more than a century.
Statista This link opens in a new window Statista integrates data on over 80.000 topics from over 18.000 sources onto a single platform. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Statista is an intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information. The data sources include market research reports, as well as trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. For each statistic, there is provided available metadata including the source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information.

Books & E-Books

Library Catalog

Search the Kinlaw Library catalog for print books, print journals, DVDs, and other physical materials.

E-Books: Main Collection

E-Books: Reference

Think of this as your academic alternative to Wikipedia! Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Use this box to search hundreds of full-text reference titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.

Highlights

Specialty items related to Psychology:

APA Guide for Psychology Students

Advances in Cognitive and Behavioral Sciences

Thinking Developmentally: Nurturing Wellness in Childhood to Promote Lifelong Health

Citation Styles

The guide for the most common citation style for this discipline is included below, but if your professor has requested a different citation style be sure to check out the Citation Style Guides. Another excellent resource for additional citation assistance is the Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL). If you need to see the official manual for a particular style, be sure to visit Kinlaw Library.

APA Quick Guide_updated

Contact a Librarian

Beth Groves

Email Me

Contact:

Kinlaw Library, Office 225
One Macklem Drive
Wilmore, KY 40390

859-858-3511; ext. 2269