Skip to main content
Banner Image

Natural Sciences: Biology, Chemistry & Physics: Find Articles

Guide to resources in these subjects.

Recommended library databases

Open Access Journals of Interest

Here is a short list of open access journals for this subject area.  This is not a comprehensive list, just a few that we found interesting.

To find additional open access journals, check the:

InterLibrary Loan

Order what we don't have from someone else - FOR FREE!

Just fill out our forms - and let us know if you have any questions.

Science Direct

Science Direct provides indexing to more than 10 million science articles from over 2,500 journals, plus over 6,000 ebooks. If you find a reference to an article or book that you want -- don't pay for it! You can request a free copy via the interlibrary loan service.

ACS Journal search

We have access to many of the ACS complete full text of their publications.  In order to see the full text, you can do a search.

This is a link to their ADVANCED search screen.   Not every title is available to us in full text, but most are.   You will need to login to our proxy if you are off campus.

Also note that we have access to Journals published by the American Chemical Society at http://pubs.acs.org/, two of which are Journal of Organic Chemistry and Organic Letters.  These two titles are also housed in the Science Building on campus.

Pub Chem

This is an open project from the National Library of Medicine and other Federal agencies.

PubChem, released in 2004, provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. PubChem is organized as three linked databases within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system. These are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool. More information about using each component database may be found using the links in the homepage.

Find Full Text Journals

  • A browsable list of journal titles contained in our databases on Biology.
  • A browsable list of journal titles contained in our databases on Chemistry.
  • A browsable list of journal titles contained in our databases on Physics.
  • To look for a specific journal title, use the search option below