Find resources in this subject.
Last Updated: Dec 3, 2013
The Librarians recommend starting with these to find articles, and/or essays in scholarly journals.
- RILM - Abstracts of Music Literature
RILM is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexing for subjects such as traditional music, popular music, and classical music, representing disciplines that include musicology, ethnomusicology, pedagogy, psychology, anthropology, sociology and others. All document types and media such as books, conference proceedings, journal articles, dissertations as well as internet resources, sound recordings and motion pictures are indexed. RILM also features bilingual abstracts and all non-Roman scripts. This is an indispensable tool for scholars, students, performers, teachers, and music lovers.
A multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and full text from all of Wilson's databases. Can specify subject content area of focus. Full text from over 1,750 journal titles. Coverage: 1982 - present.
- Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Academic Search Premier is an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, offering critical information from many sources unique to this database. Coverage: 1887 - present.
- Research Library
From business and political science to literature and psychology, Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 3,820 titles, over 2,550 in full text. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. This combination of volume and scope makes it one of the broadest, most inclusive databases ProQuest has to offer. Research Library consists of two components: a core list of periodicals; plus 15 supplemental subject-specific modules. Coverage: 1971 - present.
Order what we don't have from someone else - FOR FREE!
Just fill out our forms - and you can get everything you want.
- Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world's largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 85,322 CDs with more than 1,244,150 tracks. On average, 500 new CDs are added to the library every month. The library offers the catalogs of more than 50 classical, jazz and world music labels with more labels joining every month, and there is also jazz, film music, nostalgia, classic and contemporary rock content.
- IPA Source
IPA Source was developed to benefit singers, teachers, and all those interested in the correct and knowledgeable performance of vocal literature. What started in 2003 as a support site for students in a university diction class has grown into the largest collection of literal translations and International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions on the web. The goal of IPA Source is to promote the comprehension and accurate pronunciation of foreign language texts in art song and opera.
- Library Music Source
The largest collection of Western Classical sheet music ever assembled is now available.
Authorized users will have access to nearly 400,000 pages of sheet music from over 39,000 works including the entire piano works of Chopin, all the songs of Schubert, all the organ music of J. S. Bach, and all the orchestra parts and scores of Beethoven, to cite only a few examples.
Now the complete or nearly complete published works and instructional methods of the world’s great composers for orchestra, full scores, chamber ensemble, piano, organ, voice, chorus, strings, winds, percussion and classical guitar are available online.