Skip to main content

Finding Articles in Periodicals: What

Articles are sometimes hard to find. Use this Guide to show you the right way to search.

Articles & Periodicals

What are articles?   What are periodicals?

Periodicals are publications which are issued regularly (daily, weekly, monthly, or quarterly).  They are also often referred to as serials.  Periodicals are produced in many different formats - even looking like books.  The terms "periodicals," "magazines," and "journals" are often used interchangeably.  They all refer to publications which appear at regular intervals.  However, it is incorrect to use these words to all mean the same thing.  Magazines and journals are TYPES of periodicals.  Magazines are popular, general interest periodicals.  Journals, on the other hand, are scholarly or professional periodicals.  Both are periodicals. Newspapers, blogs, e-zines, pamphlets, annuals, and newsletters are also under the umbrella of the general term periodicals.  

For more information on types of periodicals see STUDY GUIDE #5 DISTINGUISHING SCHOLARLY FROM NON-SCHOLARLY PERIODICALS.

What are articles in relation to periodicals?   Articles are the smaller sections of any periodical publication.  They are discrete, individual contributions by one or more authors.  They are then published together within individual issues produced in sequence by the vendor, association or publisher of the periodical.   In the case of blogs, each "article" would be each blog entry, which can be written all by one author or by many people.  The definition of the word article is: An individual thing or element of a class; a particular object or item: an article of clothing; articles of food.   More specifically with relation to periodicals it is:  A nonfictional literary composition that forms an independent part of a publication, as of a newspaper or magazine.   Articles can appear in magazines, journals, newspapers, or other sources such as encyclopedias.

What do we have?

PERIODICAL LIST

The library does not own all of the periodicals indexed in the periodi­cal indexes. The Online Catalog contains the most up-to-date listing of periodical holdings for both the University and the Seminary.  Look in the Online Catalog by the title of the periodical.  If we do not own a title you need, you may go directly to other libraries to use their periodicals or you may order specific articles on interlibrary loan by filling out an Interlibrary Loan Form on the Library web page.  Fill out a loan form only if the University or the Seminary does not own the title of the periodical that you need.  Also check the FULL TEXT list to see if a journal or magazine is available in one of our full text databases.  This list is available on the Library web page  - click the “Find Full Text Journals” link.

Find our Periodicals by title

Our library subscribes to about 125 print periodicals covering a wide range of interests.  Current periodicals, bound volumes of periodicals, and microfilm are arranged in alphabetical order on the main floor of the library.  We currently have access to over 27,000 full text journal titles in our databases.   

The Kinlaw Library Catalog includes records for all the periodicals which are received by the Library.  The Library Catalog does not include information on individual articles in periodicals.   When you know the periodical title (Scientific American, The New York Times, Newsweek) search the Kinlaw Library Catalog by periodical title on the main search screen.

 
If you wish to know what titles we have in full text in our databases, there is a search for that as well.   Please use the Find Full Text Journals  link on our main Library web page.   Remember - this will only show you PERIODICAL TITLES and not articles by subject.

To find individual periodical articles by subject, article author, or article title, use periodical indexes.  The rest of this guide explains how to make best use of ALL of our periodical resources and to search for ARTICLES.