Our guide to open access resources on the internet. These resources are free to use and cite in your papers.
Last Updated: Dec 3, 2013
- Directory of Open Access Journals
Provides full-text access to articles from over 8,000 scholarly and scientific journals.
- PubMed Central
Provides full-text access for all articles from over 1,100 medical and scientific journals; selected full-text articles from over 2,000 additional journal titles are also available.
- Open Science Directory
Provides full-text access to over 13,000 scholarly and scientific journals from around the world.
- PLOS -- Public Library of Science
PLOS publishes seven peer-reviewed open-access journals in the areas of science and medicine.
Provides full-text access to articles in science, medicine and psychology.
Provides links to over 3,000 arts and humanities journals, many that have full open access to articles, and some with partial open access.
Provides links to hundreds of business journals, many that have full open access to articles, and some with partial access.
Links to free online articles - not necessarily completely open access journal titles. Many in the sciences.
- Digital Commons Network
Lots of open access materials of all types from academic institutions.
- Open Access Directory
A wiki maintained by those interested in OA and all kinds of OA materials. Links to loads of other resources - including more information about the movement and getting involved.
- Directory of Open Access Repositories - DOAR
Lists repositories from around the world. Browse or search.
- IMSLP - Score Library
IMSLP stands for International Music Score Library Project. It was started in 2006. We at the IMSLP believe that music should be something that is easily accessible for everyone. To this end, we have created the IMSLP in order to provide music scores free of charge to anyone who has internet access. IMSLP will always be freely accessible. The ultimate goal of the IMSLP is to gather all public domain music scores, in addition to the music scores of all contemporary composers (or their estates) who wish to release them to the public free of charge. However, another main goal of IMSLP is to facilitate the exchange of musical ideas outside of compositions: for example, the analysis of a particular piece of music.