See our handout:
See also:
An excellent guide from Cedarville U. - http://libguides.cedarville.edu/SBL
Great list of examples from Baylor: http://researchguides.baylor.edu/content.php?pid=366923&sid=3273125
MORE INFO:
The SBL Handbook of Style (hereafter Handbook) is based on the conventional footnote and bibliography referencing format. The Handbook's chapter on "Notes and Bibliographies" includes formatting rules and 21 pages of examples (46-67).
Below is a list of supplements, short guides and tools to help you navigate the finer points of SBL Handbook style.
Student Supplement for the SBL Handbook of Style, Revised 2009 (pdf)
This resource (hereafter Supplement) provides important updates to the Handbook, especially regarding the citation of electronic sources (see 1.6 Citation of Electronic Sources).
SBL Quick Reference (John Brown University Library) (pdf)
The Quick Reference is a 2 page pdf crib sheet of the most common citations encountered. Good for grasping the basic formatting requirements of routine citation issues. Less helpful for more complicated citation issues (refer to the Handbook for these). For advice on citation of electronic sources, refer the Supplement rather than to the Quick Reference.
SBL Handbook Footnote Rules (Perspectives in Religious Studies) (pdf)
A longer and more detailed pdf list of common Handbook citation style issues and examples (than the Quick Reference) prepared for prospective contributors to the journalPerspectives in Religious Studies.
SBL Style for Documenting Sources (Good Library, Goshen College)
Another list of commonly encountered Handbook style citation examples - including internal citations.
SBL Citation Builder (Pitts Theology Library, Emory University)
This clever application allows you to input all of the bibliographic details of your source into a template which then converts your data into a correctly formatted Handbook style citation. Brilliant!
Cite tweets and blogs. Examples:
See our Guide on Chicago Manual of Style:
If you don't want to create citations from scratch, we suggest using a free citation assistance program. Some library research databases (like Academic Search, JSTOR, etc.) will also provide a tool to format citations for you.
If you use a program for citation assistance, ALWAYS check the citation provided against the official citation manual for the style you are using (MLA, APA, Turabian, etc.). If you have questions, contact the Center for Academic Excellence or check out the additional resources provided on this page.
While there are many citation programs available (EasyBib, BibMe, KnightCite, etc.), we often recommend using Zotero.
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool that can help you to collect, organize, cite, and share your research resources, either within your Firefox browser or as a standalone program. With the click of a button you can instantly store citation information for the online information you find as you browse the web or the library's databases. You can also annotate your sources as well as organize them into separate folders.
For more information about how to use Zotero, check out this How to Use Zotero guide or the Quick Start Guide created by the folks at Zotero.