This is the "Find Articles" page of the "Behavioral Sciences (Psychology & Sociology, Social Work & Criminal Justice)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Behavioral Sciences (Psychology & Sociology, Social Work & Criminal Justice)   Tags: behavioral_science, criminal_justice, psychology, social_work, sociology  

Listed below are databases and resources on the subjects of the Behavioral Sciences.
Last Updated: Mar 17, 2014 URL: http://asbury.libguides.com/behsci Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Recommended databases

The Librarians recommend starting with these to find articles, and/or essays in scholarly journals.

  • PsycINFO  Icon
    Provides indexing and abstracts for almost 2,000 peer reviewed journals from nearly 50 countries. This database, provided by the American Psychological Association, also includes abstracts for dissertations, books, and book chapters. This database goes back to the 1800's. Search for abstracts, articles, scholarly info - some full text. Coverage: 1887 - present.
  • SocINDEX
    SocINDEX is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. This database features more than 1,986,000 records with subject headings from a 19,600+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. This product also contains informative abstracts for more than 1,130 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 430 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,800 "selective" coverage journals. Coverage: 1970s - present
  • Sociological Collection  Icon
    This database provides coverage of more than 500 full text journals. It offers information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. Coverage: 1965 - present.
  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection  Icon
    A comprehensive database with more than 575 full text tiles covering topics in the field of psychology. Coverage: 1965 - present.
  • Academic Search Premier  
      
      Icon
    This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Academic Search Premier is an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, offering critical information from many sources unique to this database. Coverage: 1887 - present.
  • OmniFile  Icon
    A multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and full text from all of Wilson's databases. Can specify subject content area of focus. Full text from over 1,750 journal titles. Coverage: 1982 - present.
  • Research Library  Icon
    From business and political science to literature and psychology, Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 3,820 titles, over 2,550 in full text. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. This combination of volume and scope makes it one of the broadest, most inclusive databases ProQuest has to offer. Research Library consists of two components: a core list of periodicals; plus 15 supplemental subject-specific modules. Coverage: 1971 - present.
  • PsycTESTS  Icon
    PsycTESTS®, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), serves as a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching. International in scope, PsycTESTS® also provides access to an increasing number of tests that are available in languages other than English. PsycTESTS® is an authoritative source of structured information about tests of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. While focused on contemporary instances of test use, coverage spans more than a century.
 

InterLibrary Loan

Order what we don't have from someone else - FOR FREE!

Just fill out our forms - and you can get everything you want.

Find Psychological Tests

We now have access to a resource that will provide actual text of a test.  Search for all kinds of topics.

  • PsycTESTS  Icon
    PsycTESTS®, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), serves as a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching. International in scope, PsycTESTS® also provides access to an increasing number of tests that are available in languages other than English. PsycTESTS® is an authoritative source of structured information about tests of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. While focused on contemporary instances of test use, coverage spans more than a century.
 

How To Search SocIndex

This is a very helpful guide on using SocIndex effectively.   This guide explains all the various functions of the database.

 

How to search PsycInfo

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip